Skip to content

It’s The Spookiest Time of the Year!

Oct 31, 2012, 8:54 AM EST

Today’s Halloween, so there can really only be one topic of discussion: what are you dressing up as? Most of us students are going to save our best costumes for this weekend, when we can show them off in front of the most people (I think we can count on seeing a fair few costumes in the student section during Saturday’s football game against Pitt.)

And since it’s by far the most fun (and discussed) topic of this week of the year, I asked some members of the women’s basketball squad what they wanted to dress up as this Halloween. Here’s what they said:

Freshman guard Hannah Huffman: “I’m planning on being Pikachu, and my friend’s going to be Ash Ketchum. That’s going to be my outfit, I think.”

Junior forward Ariel Braker: “I’m pretty sure I’m going to be Gabby Douglas. I’m going to pull out some leotards from the archives from when I did gymnastics back in the day and re-live the dream.”

Sophomore guard Madison Cable: “I’m not sure what I’m going to be this year. In past years I’ve been a hotdog, and that was probably my best costume, so maybe I’ll pull that out again.”

Sophomore forward Markisha Wright: “I kind of want to be a ninja turtle. Why not?”

Junior forward Natalie Achonwa: “I actually haven’t thought about that yet because we play the day after Halloween, I believe, so I haven’t even thought about what I’m going to be. I think last year I was Wonder Woman, so I don’t know what I’m going to be this year. I need something crafty.”

Senior guard Skylar Diggins: “I don’t want to be all diva-ish, but if I had to pick one I would be Beyoncé. I think that would be so tight. But it’s too cold outside to be Beyoncé. But maybe a cheerleader. I want to go all-out and do it this year. Last year I was Miss America, but this year, maybe that. I’ve got options, I’ve got time.”

I also asked about the best costumes each player had seen in previous years. Achonwa nominated a “Gold Digger”: a girl in a gold dress with a hardhat and shovel. Diggins gave the nod to a male cheerleader who dressed up as a baby last Halloween, while Cable voted for her own hotdog costume.

So if you were still pondering your own costume, you’ve got plenty of ideas for inspiration. Have a spooky and safe Halloween, everyone!

About In The Paint

Welcome to In The Paint, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to the Notre Dame basketball programs. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the Purcell Pavilion, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Women’s Basketball on YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Men’s Basketball on YouTube