Skip to content

15 Things Digger Phelps Taught Me in 60 Minutes

Dec 30, 2013, 3:27 PM EDT

Originally posted on Fighting Irish Blog:

A few weeks ago, former Notre Dame men’s basketball coach Richard “Digger” Phelps took an hour to speak with three members of the @JrNDBloggers, Anna Gonzalez, Rachel Murphy and Mike Franz. Here are Anna’s thoughts on the experience…

When it comes to the whole “wisdom” thing, Digger Phelps is killing me. It makes complete sense though. If wisdom is measured by experience, he has a considerable amount more than I do. If wisdom is measured by time, he’s got 50 years on me. If wisdom is measured by just being an awesome person, Digger still bests me. The great thing about the legendary Notre Dame basketball coach, however, is that he’s eager to share his wisdom, and I think it would be wrong of me not to share what I learned in return. Here are 15 things that I learned in the one hour that I got to spend with…

View original 1,415 more words

About In The Paint

Welcome to In The Paint, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to the Notre Dame basketball programs. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the Purcell Pavilion, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Women’s Basketball on YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Men’s Basketball on YouTube