Skip to content

Two ND Hoops Specials to Debut on NBC Sports Network

Mar 20, 2013, 11:09 AM EDT

Earlier this month, you might have seen Sweet Home Chicago, an inside look at the Notre Dame hockey team’s series with Miami and trip to Soldier Field.

This week, we’re excited to announce two similar specials produced by 3 Penny Films for Fighting Irish Digital Media. They will both air nationally on NBC Sports Network.

Notre Dame Women’s Basketball: A Tradition of Excellence follows the Irish during the second half of their outstanding season on the way to a 31-1 record and #1 seed.

Set your DVR for the premiere, which will air on Mar. 25 at 2:30 am ET. It will also be broadcast on April 3 at 2:00 am and April 8 at 3:30 pm.

Reinvention: Notre Dame Men’s Basketball Blueprint for Success takes a close look at Mike Brey‘s squad, as the Irish adjusted to the loss of tri-captain Scott Martin to a season-ending knee injury.

The show debuts on Mar. 25 at 2 am ET, and re-airs on Mar. 30 at 2:30 pm, April 2 at 3:30 pm and April 3 at 2:30 am.

These specials are the latest in FIDM’s collaboration with 3 Penny Films. The company also produced Inside The Walls of Arlotta and Irish United: The Story of Notre Dame Women’s Soccer.

  1. brentsn - Mar 20, 2013 at 12:18 PM

    SWEET ! Thank you for the heads up Josh ! It blows my mind what the Lady Irish have accomplished this year ! On my way home after meeting the returning buses on campus after NCG last year , as i was pulling out of the parking lot , Brittany Mallory was walking toward campus. I remember how sad,empty AND proud I was of this program and how much I would miss Brittany as she had evolved into my favorite player 2 years earlier. I could watch her play defense 24/7 ! I knew this would be a rebuilding year. Maybe 7,8 or 10 losses,I was thinking. Getting better as the year went , maybe a sweet 16 team. Then the more I thought during the off season , the more I thought this team could be really good. I had no doubt Natalie was about to turn into a superstar,Kayla was always underrated it seemed,Maddy would be able to contribute (what a huge plus),we had some very talented freshmen that would contribute immediately,then of course,we still had the Queen of South Bend in Miss Skylar. This team will really be fun to watch grow into a very good team! I was excited! On top of that , Beth Cunningham was joining the best coaching staff in the land! Well , I was proven wrong. There wasn’t much growth like I anticipated. Every player and coach meshed and grew together in the off season. The team didn’t have to work towards achieving chemistry,they satrted with it right from the get go.Sure they have improved through the year,but they just came out ready and blazing and confident ! I’ve never seen anything like it! I’ve been following since the early 90′s. I remember games played after the men’s games and not many people stayed. I remember the crowds of 200,350 maybe 600 for Uconn or Tennessee. I remember the rush of the ’97 season and the first final four! I remember Muffet dressing only 7 players due to injuries and the team mgr having to dress and play in games! Then I remember watching the freshmen of ’97 grow into the ’01 National Champions ! Then the road of the last 2 years and finally THIS YEAR! I don’t think alot of people AND students exactly know what we have here in Coach McGraw. I don’t think alot of people realize what this team has achieved this year , I really don’t ! This has turned out to be my favorite ND team of any sport of all time ! I;m 54 lifelong devoted ND fan. I’m not a football fan or basketball fan. I am a fan of Notre Dame. I get very emotional over this 2012-13 WBB team. No matter how it ends , I will always remember and love this team. All the accomplishments and awards , the year after losing 4 seniors,3 starters. 31-1,beat Uconn 3 times (so far) , it all leaves me speechless! I believe this team COULD beat anybody! The 4 kids coming in next year have me excited already. Skylar and Kaila will be huge holes to fill. At least we’ll be able to follow Skylars career and she’ll always be the Queen of South Bend! Can’t wait to see how the next few weeks turn out !! So excited and happy for this team , I love these girls !!

    Reply
Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

About In The Paint

Welcome to In The Paint, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to the Notre Dame basketball programs. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the Purcell Pavilion, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.