Skip to content

Getting to Know Madison Cable

Feb 11, 2013, 9:50 AM EST

AP Photo/Joe Raymond AP

Ever wished you knew more about sophomore guard Madison Cable? Well we caught up with her after practice to get to know her a little better. Enjoy!

What accomplishment or trait are you most proud of?
“I’m most proud of getting here and being successful with my teammates and family and friends.”

If you could choose anyone to be your teammate (doesn’t have to be a basketball player), who would it be?
“Mario Lemieux.”

What is your favorite kids’ movie?
“Toy Story. It’s still my favorite.”

What’s been your favorite class at Notre Dame so far?
“I think it’d be my U.S. History class freshman year.”

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?
“Work hard and have fun.”

What’s the most-played song on your playlist?
“Any song by Billy Joel could be my most-played song.”

What’s your favorite thing about basketball as a sport?
“It’s just fun to work and get better with your teammates every day. And off the court, too, the relationships you make.”

What’s the weirdest basketball-related thing you’ve ever seen?
“People scoring at the wrong hoops. People subbing in the game without going to the table, they just run in. That’s pretty bad, too.”

What’s your favorite holiday?
“Christmas and the Fourth of July.”

What’s your favorite spot on campus?
“My room. And the dining hall – South Dining Hall.”

Why did you decide to switch your jersey number to 22?
“I switched to 22 because that was my number all through high school and AAU, and I just couldn’t have it last year because Brittany Mallory had it, but since she left I took it.”

Does that number have any special meaning for you?
“I just like it. My sister wore it, my dad wore it, so I just like it.”

You missed most of last season with stress fractures in your feet. Has that changed the way you look at basketball?
“It definitely does. I’d never been hurt in my life before last year, so now I know every time you step on the court it could be your last time, so just have fun and work as long as you can every time you play, because you never know what could happen.”

What’s your least-favorite part of practice?
“[A drill called] approach. Full-court approach.”

What’s your pet-peeve?
“When Markisha [Wright] goes ‘Gah!’”

When you were younger, was there anything that you would regularly get in trouble for?
“I was a bad child, so I got in trouble for pretty much everything.”

About In The Paint

Welcome to In The Paint, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to the Notre Dame basketball programs. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the Purcell Pavilion, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Women’s Basketball on YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Men’s Basketball on YouTube