Skip to content

Getting to Know Michaela Mabrey

Feb 7, 2013, 10:36 AM EDT

Photo by Joseph Weiser / Notre Dame Media Relations Photo by Joseph Weiser / Notre Dame Media Relations

Michaela Mabrey is a freshman guard who hails from Belmar, N.J. She comes from a very strong basketball family, and she has shown her skill on the court this season for the Fighting Irish, averaging 13.4 minutes per game.

As a true freshman, she has already been able to highlight her versatile skill set and killer three-point shooting. Recently, I was able to meet up with Michaela to get to know a little more about this talented freshman.

What is your major and why does it interest you?
I do not have a declared major yet, but I would like to eventually major in Communications.

What attracted you to Notre Dame?
I was obviously attracted to the basketball aspect of it, but also the great academics, and just how everyone here is treated like family.

What one word would your teammates use to describe you?
I would probably say “goofy” because I am always happy and just “going with the flow” all the time.

What do you plan/hope to do after your basketball career?
I would like to get into broadcasting, I think. I have always been interested in that since I was little, so that would be a great dream of mine.

What song always pumps you up before a game?
“No Worries” by Lil Wayne.

What is your favorite thing about playing basketball at Notre Dame?
I really like the fact that everyone is family here, especially the team.

If you could play any other sport, what would it be?
Football.

What is your favorite memory with a teammate?
All of the memories that we made over the summer as a team, especially those where the freshman were bonding with the upperclassmen.

What is the hardest thing about being a student athlete?
Time management.

Do you have any pre-game rituals or superstitions?
My hair has to be done.

What is your favorite place on campus?
The JACC.

What is one thing you would like to do before you leave Notre Dame?
Win a national championship.

What do you miss most about your home?
My family.

What is the weirdest coaching advice that you have ever received?
To cut my hair.

What song on your iPod would surprise people?
“Colder Weather” by Zac Brown Band.

About In The Paint

Welcome to In The Paint, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to the Notre Dame basketball programs. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the Purcell Pavilion, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.