Skip to content

Q&A with Kayla McBride

Nov 20, 2012, 12:32 PM EST

6628497

Kayla McBride is a junior guard from Erie, Pennsylvania who lives in Ryan Hall at Notre Dame. She has played on the team two years and is off to a great start in her third. I recently caught up with her for a Q&A.

Q: When did you start playing?

When I was five, in the YMCA league.

Q: Is there any story behind your number (21)?

Yeah, Charlie [Ward] wore it. He played for the New York Knicks. He always ran a camp back in my hometown, and that’s where I first started playing basketball with all the boys, so ever since then I’ve worn it. Natalie Novosel wore it when I got here, but after she left last year, I decided to switch it up.

Q: Do you have a favorite professional player?

Michael Jordan. But if you’re talking about now, I definitely like Dwyane Wade’s game–I think he’s probably my favorite.

Q: Do you have a favorite player in college basketball to match up against?

Playing against Maya Moore was pretty cool, but I also just love playing with Sky [Diggins], she’s very competitive, and she’s really easy to play with. She has a really high basketball IQ.

Q: Why did you pick Notre Dame?

I came here when I was sixteen, a junior in high school, and I was just so wowed by everything. It’s a perfect combination of athletics and academics, and I knew I could succeed outside of basketball here.

Q: Apart from the basketball team, what’s your favorite part about Notre Dame?

The camaraderie, I would say. Everyone’s so close, and even after you leave, there’s so much opportunity to remain close.

Q: What’s your major?

I’m a marketing major. Mendoza all the way.

Q: Do you have a favorite class? 

Yeah my favorite class is definitely Consumer Behavior with Professor Bradford.

Q: Do you have a pregame ritual?

No, I did in high school, but once I got to college, everything is already so planned out for you, I just got caught up in that. It’s kind of hard to have one.

Q: What was your high school basketball career like?

I played four years on varsity–we won states my junior and senior years, and we were runner-up my freshman year.

Q: Do you have a favorite shot to use in HORSE?

Between the legs reverse…lay-up. Actually it’s behind the back too. Behind the back, between the legs, reverse lay-up. 

Q: And you’ve made that before? 

Yeah. 

Q: Are you ever going to use it in a game? 

Not in a game, I think Coach might take me out.

Q: If Manti Te’o played Skylar Diggins 1v1, who would win and what would the score be?

Sky, 11-5.

About In The Paint

Welcome to In The Paint, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to the Notre Dame basketball programs. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the Purcell Pavilion, we are committed to bringing you coverage of the Fighting Irish unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Women’s Basketball on YouTube

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • We have reached the final media timeout of the half, Irish up 48-20. 3:37 left in the first half 28 minutes ago
  • 36-13 Irish lead with 7:22 left in the first half 🍀 36 minutes ago
  • At the second media timeout of the first half, the Irish are up 29-10 43 minutes ago
  • At the first media timeout, Irish lead 15-3 over Quinnipiac 54 minutes ago
  • And we are underway here in Purcell Pavilion! Irish win the tip and Taya hits a jumper to start things off🍀 1 hour ago

Men’s Basketball on YouTube